As I Lay Dying

Beneath The Encasing Of Ashes

Release Date: 6/12/2001
Catalog: PLU007
Track Listing:
1 Beneath the Encasing of Ashes
2 Torn Within
3 Forced to Die
4 A Breath in the Eyes of Eternity
5 Blood Turned to Tears
6 The Voices That Betray Me
7 When This World Fades
8 A Long March
9 Surrounded
10 Refined By Your Embrace
11 The Innocence Spilled
12 Behind Me Lies Another Fallen Soldier


The electrifying debut that started it all. You can find these original recordings re-released on the AS I LAY DYING “A Long March: The First Recordings” from 2006.

Originally named Life Once Lost, As I Lay Dying opted to change their name after a brief reorganization in 2000. Vocalist Tim Lambesis and Eli Bowser left to join Texas-based Society’s Finest; and Jon Jameson joined Noise Ratchet. It only took four months for Tim to discover that his passion was in pursuing As I Lay Dying. Relocating back to San Diego, Tim gathered a who’s who of San Diego hardcore to form the new and improved As I Lay Dying. Jordan Mancino had recently left Edge of Mortality and Noah Chase later joined. Snagging a record deal with Dallas, TX based metal label Pluto Records, the band released their debut album, “Beneath the Encasing of Ashes”, on June 12, 2001.